Conservation Areas in Milton Keynes

Conservation Area Review Programme - Public Consultation 21 Jan to 1 March 2019


Each local planning authority has a statutory duty to review its conservation areas from time to time.  Reviewing conservation areas ensures that the written appraisal and boundary map for each designated area is up to date. 

New developments at the edges of a conservation area can mean features used to define the original boundary of a conservation area have changed making it necessary to make adjustments.  Sometimes new information can lead to a better understanding of a place making it appropriate to redraw the boundary to include the contribution made by buildings on the periphery, or exclude those that no longer make the contribution that they did. 

The Council is engaged in reviewing all 27 of its conservation areas (a map showing these can be found at the bottom of this page). At the beginning of each review officers contact ward members, town/parish councils and, where appropriate, local stakeholders to discuss the existing conservation area. Each review then undergoes a period of public consultation of six weeks after which the final document is produced and adopted by the Council.

Currently we are seeking your opinion on the overarching draft General Information Document (1.6MB) and the reviews for Bradwell Village (1.5MB), Great Linford (4.3MB), Milton Keynes Village (1.6MB) and Shenley Church End (2.4MB). In particular we would appreciate your view on the proposed boundaries and whether we have captured what is special about each area. It should be noted that the format of the final documents will be slightly different to that of the draft documents for consultation, including many more photographs capturing the character and appearance of each area.


The consultation begins Monday 21 January and closes Friday 1 March 2019, responses can be made via email or in writing to: Conservation and Archaeology Team, Civic Offices, 1 Saxon Gate East, MK9 3EJ.


What Are Conservation Areas?

Conservation areas are designated areas that possess “a special architectural or historic interest the character or appearance of which it is desirable to preserve or enhance”.

Milton Keynes has 27 conservation areas, including building, open spaces, cemeteries, historic street patterns and local centres.

What Does It Mean?

Residents and businesses in a conservation area must play their part in preserving and enhancing the unique character that led to the designation. The council will encourage high-quality design for all development in a conservation area, to ensure that it makes a positive contribution to the character.

How Are They Reviewed?

Milton Keynes Council has a legal obligation to periodically consider areas that have special architectural and historic interest, meaning they should be preserved or enhanced as conservation areas.

Conservation Area Appraisals

We follow advice from the Government and English Heritage in conducting conservation area appraisals and consulting the public. These appraisals include an analysis and account of the area, including an explanation of why the areas has been designated and our approach to preservation and enhancement.

Conservation area appraisals are intended to guide people who want to develop and change the area, as well as the council in assessing proposals.

Conservation Area Appraisals in Milton Keynes

Location   Designated   Area   Documents
Bletchley (PDF, 368KB)   26.2.1992   24.174 ha    
Bradwell (PDF, 289KB)   8.2.1978   6.143 ha    
Broughton (PDF, 89KB)   8.2.1978   4.104 ha   Review (PDF, 2.2MB)
Calverton (PDF, 147KB)   8.3.1971   22.142 ha   Review
Castlethorpe (PDF, 162KB)   6.3.1972   14.288 ha    
Clifton Reynes (PDF, 123KB)   31.10.1979   4.268 ha    
Emberton (PDF, 140KB)   8.3.1971   10.585 ha    
Great Linford (PDF, 1.1MB)   8.3.1978   23.155 ha    
Hanslope (PDF, 179KB)   31.10.1979   8.448 ha    
Lavendon (PDF, 121KB)   31.10.1979   7.959 ha    
Little Brickhill (PDF, 171KB)   22.3.2007   29.637 ha   Appraisal (PDF, 4.2MB)
Loughton (JPG, 374KB)   10.03.2015       Review (PDF, 3.9MB)
Milton Keynes (Middleton) (PDF, 209KB)   8.2.1978   11.404 ha    
Newport Pagnell (PDF, 2.2MB)   10.3.1969   30.969 ha   Review (PDF, 5.6MB)
Newton Blossomville (PDF, 127KB)   14.9.1970   9.458 ha    
North Crawley (PDF, 123KB)   14.9.1970   26.671 ha    
Olney (PDF, 679KB)   10.3.1969   26.671 ha    
Ravenstone (PDF, 376KB)   14.9.1970   18.046 ha    
Shenley Church End (PDF, 99KB)   8.2.1978   3.527 ha    
Sherington (PDF, 162KB)   8.1.1973   16.147 ha    
Stoke Goldington (PDF, 136KB)   15.3.1974   8.126 ha    
Stony Stratford (PDF, 1MB)   6.8.1975   25.015 ha    
Weston Underwood (PDF, 137KB)   10.3.1969   13.761 ha    
Willen (PDF, 128KB)   8.2.1978   5.018 ha    
Woburn Sands (PDF, 197KB)   17.6.2003   13.168 ha   Review (PDF, 7.3MB)
Wolverton (PDF, 492KB)   4.9.2001   75.969 ha   Review (PDF, 7.7MB)
Woughton-On-The-Green (PDF, 124KB)   8.2.1978   17.526 ha    

Last Updated: 22 January 2019