Freedom of the City

Freedom of the City is an honour given to either a person or military unit, either in recognition of their exceptional service to the city, or because they are a person of distinction.

A special Council meeting is required to award Freedom of the City, where two-thirds of Councillors must agree to bestow the honour. The award of Freedom of the City does not confer any special rights or privileges on the recipient but is more a reflection of the high esteem in which they are held.   

On 28 February 2023, Leah Williamson became the first recipient of Freedom of the City of Milton Keynes, and the first recipient as a person of distinction; for her outstanding sporting achievements.

Prior to Milton Keynes being receiving City Status in September 2022, recipients were awarded Freedom of the Borough. 

Military Units are granted Freedom of Entry.  This allows them the freedom to parade through the city and is an affirmation of the bond between the regiment and the citizenry.

Recipients of Freedom of the City / Borough

  • 2023 – Leah Williamson OBE
  • 2015 – Peter Winkelman (Chairman of MKDons Football Club)
  • 2015 – 678 (Rifles) Squadron of the 6th Regiment of the Army Air Corps
  • 2014 – Infiniti Red Bull Racing Formula One Team
  • 2011 – Dame Cleo Laine
  • 2009 – Dr James Charles Marshall OBE
  • 1998 – The Royal Green Jackets (Regiment)
  • 1982 – The Right Honourable the Lord Campbell of Eskan (Chairman of the Milton Keynes Development Corporation)

Note: Prior to September 2022 recipients were awarded Freedom of the Borough

Leah Williamson receiving Freedom of the City

Leah Williamson becomes the first recipient of Freedom of the City of Milton Keynes on 28 February 2023.